Change font size
It is currently Fri 25. Jul 2014, 05:43


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 3   [ 30 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed 2. Mar 2011, 20:09 

Joined: Wed 2. Mar 2011, 18:37
Posts: 53
Hi,

this updated phc-intel package includes phc-intel 0.3.2 and 0.4.0 (test release)
for stable and longterm kernel since version 2.6.27
Attachment:
phc-intel-pack-rev15.1.tar.bz2 [95.47 KiB]
Downloaded 683 times
key changes:
* Support for kernel 3.15
* .name changed for kernel >= 3.1
see README.1st for a quick intro

have fun and be cool
Dirk


Last edited by lio on Tue 10. Jun 2014, 23:56, edited 27 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu 3. Mar 2011, 22:51 
User avatar

Joined: Fri 18. Jul 2008, 11:25
Posts: 169
Super! ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun 6. Mar 2011, 12:20 
User avatar

Joined: Wed 23. Feb 2011, 18:30
Posts: 44
Please correct a bug in phctool, I already written an alternative version. In kernels 2.6.36 or higher you have no more /proc/acpi/processor/CPU./info.

No window opens, if run in terminal you get:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./phctool.py", line 468, in <module>
app=appgui()
File "./phctool.py", line 81, in __init__
self.cpuinfo=cpuinfo.cpuinfo() ##functions to gather CPU informations
File "inc/libs/cpuinfo.py", line 12, in __init__
self._get_acpi_cpus() ##get ACPI-supported CPUs
File "inc/libs/cpuinfo.py", line 43, in _get_acpi_cpus
self.data[cpunr]['acpi']['exist']=False
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'cpunr' referenced before assignment


Here is a newer version of the buggy function. Please replace it!
Attachment:
cpuinfo.tar.bz2 [2.22 KiB]
Downloaded 559 times

Of course a fallback on old behaviour has been implemented, so no worry.

Cheers!

[EDIT]

This is fine for 3.6.36 and 2.6.37 kernels, but 2.6.38 has /proc/acpi/processor no more, I'm working on a proper change in throttling.py


[EDIT2]

Found a temporary solution, modifying cpuinfo.py but my cpu is a core 2 duo, so no throttling is available... need someone to properly edit throttling.py!

I'm posting it here and opening a newer thread

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun 20. Mar 2011, 13:38 

Joined: Sun 14. Feb 2010, 10:23
Posts: 3
Thanks Dirk! Everything seems to work great on the latest 2.6.38 :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat 28. May 2011, 13:25 

Joined: Sun 20. Sep 2009, 17:46
Posts: 27
lio wrote:
Hi,

this updated phc-intel package includes phc-intel 0.3.2 and 0.4.0 (test release)
for stable and longterm kernel 2.6.27 to 2.6.39
Attachment:
phc-intel-pack-rev1.tar.bz2

key changes:
* updated kernel support
see README.1st for a quick intro

have fun and be cool
Dirk


Thanks, this package is great, I am looking forward to see how dkms behaves with new kernel updates :)

I think this advanced packaging should be provided also for the official release thread, I would have hardly found this without your suggestion.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue 31. May 2011, 00:52 

Joined: Thu 21. Oct 2010, 20:26
Posts: 1
Thank you very much!!! :!:

Works fine on Kubuntu 11.04 with 2.6.38.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri 25. Nov 2011, 06:01 

Joined: Fri 25. Nov 2011, 05:36
Posts: 6
Hi Dirk,

thank you very much for this package! It provides exactly what I was looking out for a long time, DKMS and DEB, grate!

However, I have some troubles. The problem: I can whether load the phc-intel module nor can I unload the acpi-cpufreq module.

I tried this on a Ubuntu 11.10 installation. As Kernel I am using the modified generic-phc from ppa:linux-phc/testing.
uname -r
Code:
 3.0.0-13-generic-phc
grep -i acpi_cpufreq /boot/config-3.0.0-13-generic-phc
Code:
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m

So, I downloaded the above file and created a DEB:
make dkms_mkdeb
Code:
Creating symlink ./.dkms/phc-intel/0.3.2/source ->
                 ./.dkms//usr/src//phc-intel-0.3.2

DKMS: add Completed.
Using /etc/dkms/template-dkms-mkdeb
copying template...
modifying debian/changelog...
modifying debian/compat...
modifying debian/control...
modifying debian/copyright...
modifying debian/dirs...
modifying debian/postinst...
modifying debian/prerm...
modifying debian/README.Debian...
modifying debian/rules...
copying legacy postinstall template...
Copying source tree...
Building binary package... dpkg-source --before-build phc-intel-dkms-0.3.2
 fakeroot debian/rules clean
 debian/rules build
 fakeroot debian/rules binary
 dpkg-genchanges -b >../phc-intel-dkms_0.3.2_i386.changes
dpkg-genchanges: binary-only upload - not including any source code
 dpkg-source --after-build phc-intel-dkms-0.3.2


DKMS: mkdeb Completed.
Moving built files to ./.dkms/phc-intel/0.3.2/deb...
Cleaning up temporary files...

Source package ready to install and available at
 ./phc-intel-dkms_0.3.2_all.deb
And installed the resulting DEB.

So far, so good. However, when trying to unload acpi-cpufreq module:
sudo rmmod acpi_cpufreq
Code:
ERROR: Module acpi_cpufreq is in use
sudo rmmod -f acpi_cpufreq
Code:
ERROR: Removing 'acpi_cpufreq': Device or resource busy
Sure, under this circumstances I can not load phc-intel module:
sudo modprobe -v phc-intel
Code:
insmod /lib/modules/3.0.0-13-generic-phc/updates/dkms/phc-intel.ko
FATAL: Error inserting phc_intel (/lib/modules/3.0.0-13-generic-phc/updates/dkms/phc-intel.ko): Device or resource busy


Any suggestions? I have no ideas what to do now.

Best, Stefan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri 25. Nov 2011, 09:20 
User avatar

Joined: Wed 23. Feb 2011, 18:30
Posts: 44
If some mod passes here I suggest moving this post and the one before in the Help folder.

Talking about your issue...
First of all you don't want to delete that module, but to unload it. So you shoud not use rmmod but:
Code:
sudo modprobe -r acpi-cpufreq

Anyway it looks strange, sometimes when people complained about such behaviour a reboot did the job, but also, be sure to use the right kernel with
Code:
uname -a

then take a look at the loaded modules with:
Code:
sudo lsmod



Cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri 25. Nov 2011, 18:55 

Joined: Fri 25. Nov 2011, 05:36
Posts: 6
Sorry for using the wrong forum - my fault. May be one of the mods could be so kind and move this to where ever it is appropriate.

This is a really strange behavior. The kernel config shows that the 'acpi_cpufreq' is build as module and also this kernel is loaded.
Code:
uname -a
Linux WMS005 3.0.0-13-generic-phc #22~phc1-Ubuntu SMP Tue Nov 22 23:31:01 UTC 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linu
But I can not unload or delete the acpi_cpufreq module.
Code:
sudo modprobe -r acpi-cpufreq
FATAL: Module acpi_cpufreq is in use.
I also tried to blacklist this module in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf
Code:
blacklist acpi_cpufreq
Also the initramfs is up to date. Unfortunately, without success, the module is loaded anyways.
Code:
lsmod |grep cpufreq
cpufreq_stats          13172  0
acpi_cpufreq           13203  1
mperf                  12603  1 acpi_cpufreq
How could this be, it is blacklisted.

Could it be, that the kernel config file is wrong and acpi_cpufreq isn't compiled as module?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri 2. Dec 2011, 03:56 

Joined: Fri 25. Nov 2011, 05:36
Posts: 6
Unfortunately, my post isn't moved to the 'help-forum'. Despite posting my issue not at a fully appropriate place I want to present a workaround.

Blacklisting both modules acpi_cpufreq and cpufreq_stats and additionally putting phc-intel to /etc/modules solves the problem.

Cheers, Stefan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 3   [ 30 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net